Posted by: Moggle | December 10, 2008

Fern Glade

Grrr, in all the hassle of yet another power cut at my work, I missed the new Knitty being released.

I am fortunate enough to have my first published knitting pattern it. I give you Fern Glade.

ss853085sm1

ss853089crop

ss853094sm

That last photo was my favourite, but didn’t look at all wintery, so didn’t get on to Knitty.

Fern Glade is either a fitted or more slouchy beret knit in a lovely lace pattern in a gorgeous wool/silk blend. Any wool or wool blend that blocks to give a nice crisp definition to your lace would work. It takes only 200 metres of wool/silk which makes it an affordable luxury in my book!

This design was partly inspired by my desire for a purple hat, and partly by my memories of the Tasmanian temperate rainforest.

fern-glade2

Edited to add picture of the Fern Glade track my husband took (that’s me in red further down the track) when we walked on it earlier this year. 


Responses

  1. Gorgeous pattern, and congratulations on getting it into Knitty! Another one to add to my list of berets to knit…so many berets, so little time!

  2. Congratulations! It’s a beautiful design. I’ll definitely be making one…and perhaps even wearng it in Fern Tree as I live just down the road!

  3. Great pattern – can’t wait to see it in Knitty (I think there’s a lot of traffic at the moment!)

  4. Saw your pattern on Knitty and immediately hopped on over here to congratulate you. The beret looks fab, and has gone straight on my Ravelry queue!

  5. So cute! Congrats… the pattern is fab. Am adding to my queue as we speak.

  6. Congratulations! It’s a great pattern 🙂

  7. Beautiful pattern! Congratulations on your success!

  8. Congratulations. It is gorgeous.

  9. Fantastic! One of the few I really must make. Congratulations!

  10. Beautiful pattern. Well done.

  11. Lovely pattern, congratulations! This is going into my queue!

  12. Gorgeous – perhaps us Tassie knitters will organise a KIP event at Fern Glade in honour of your beret. Well done – it’s gorgeous and went straight into my queue

  13. Gorgeous. Congratulations on getting it published.

  14. That hat is just lovely!

    I enjoyed your pic of Tasmania too – I was there about five years ago and I thought it was an amazing place.

  15. beautiful pattern and you look lovely in the photos. well done x

  16. Congratulations! It’s a darling pattern and I’m sure will be knit many times!

  17. It’s a beautiful pattern! well done! It’ll be in my queue as soon as Christmas knitting is finished 🙂

  18. Congratulations! I love this pattern, it’s one of my faves from this issue of Knitty!

  19. Gorgeous! This is going into my Ravelry queue for sure.

  20. i just wanted to say that i love the hat. really lovely.

  21. Fabulous. Absolutely Fabulous, just like my favorite British comedy. Really, the hat is gorgeous and a perfect beret pattern!

  22. I love your hat. It is gorgeous. and the photo of Fern Glade is wonderful.

  23. Congratulations on getting a design in Knitty and for making such a beautiful hat! Another beret for my ‘to-knit’ pile…

    and your blog stats? WOW!

  24. lovely beret , i might knit it for my freinds’ b-day..
    thanks for sharing.

  25. Just wanted to stop by, nearly a year later, to tell you how much I adore this hat and the pattern for it. I have no idea why I enjoy knitting it so much, but it’s an absolute blast. I hate knitting a pattern exactly the same twice, and yet this one I don’t mind plopping down with some new yarn and knitting up fast. Probably a good thing all my friends want one!


Leave a comment

Categories