Posted by: Moggle | September 5, 2009

Yarn out, yarn in

I enjoyed knitting baby things so much I decided that I’m going to do some more. So while we were away (camping!) in Pembrokeshire for the last bank holiday weekend of the year we dropped in to Jane’s of Fishguard where I got this Soya Cotton.

Sublime soya cotton

I’m thinking about making this cute drops pattern. I’d also like to make this ridiculously cute poncho for the nephew, but it would be just plain daft to make it in wool for the nephew considering daytime temperatures there recently reached 36 degrees C in the last month of winter!

.

On the rainy sunday afternoon we managed to make our way to the Preseli Mohair Centre (it was listed on the ordnance survey map). Not so much a ‘centre’ as a room in someone’s house, they still had some lovely glossy mohair and I felt bad about disturbing the lady on a Sunday afternoon so I bought this nice shiny skein of 4-ply. I’m thinking about using it for some weaving.

Mohair

This past Friday was my first post-Fibrefest ‘working from home’ day so I listed some yarn:

Collage 20090904 Yarn

and some fibre:

Collage 20090904 ShAL SwSea

I still have to sort through the photos from last weekend including some of St Davids, a semi-rainy Pembrokeshire coast path walk and a few from Woodfest The festival of the tree. I’ll try to post some in the next few days.

Responses

  1. Looking forward to seeing the pictures from “Woodfest”. I just followed the link to the site and saw the pics of last year’s sculptures – they look amazing.

  2. I’ve just done that too!!! Love the yarn and fibre colourways. You’ve certainly been busy. The little DROPS baby jacket is cute too. I have some ‘baby boy’ knitting to do;perhaps I’ll try that pattern too! Have a good week. Ros


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

