Posted by: Moggle | July 27, 2007

Hello and welcome

Hi

My name is Moggle, and welcome to my first ever post for my knitting blog.

I learned to knit and crochet in November 2006. There were probably 3 main factors that influenced me to knit – I was looking for a new hobby having failed with jewellery making, I had been doing a lot of reading about sweatshop clothing and also thinking about how to avoid synthetics in my clothing, and I wanted some new scarves and hats and thought it would be cheaper to make my own.

So I borrowed a book from my local library and taught myself to knit. Actually I think I re-taught myself to knit because I’m positive I learned garter stitch as a kid. Both my Mum and my Nan were pretty experienced knitters, and I don’t remember either of them actually teaching me, but it must have happened. Anyway, learning to knit was a bit of an epiphany for me – I just loved it and couldn’t get enough of it. I describe myself as a ‘twitchy’ person and I find it difficult to sit for long periods without doing anything – so the knitting is great for that. My husband and I got rid of our telly in early 2006, and we don’t have kids, so I have a lot of potentially free time in which to knit.

I also taught myself to crochet in November or December 2006, actually that may have come first. Then I discovered knitting blogs, knitting forums and online knitting magazines – it was and still is like falling in love – I just don’t seem to be able to get enough of it all. I have only bought one pattern magazine, and one book and the rest of the patterns I’ve made have been either borrowed from the library or free from the net.

I’ve learned loads of new techniques from the net (thank you knittinghelp.com!) and that is one of the things I love about knitting – there’s so many new things to learn. My current new learnings/obsessions are farisle or stranded knitting and knitted lace. I’m also just trying out designing and have loads of ideas. I’d love to knit full time!

Welcome to my world!

Responses

  1. Wow Moogle, your Blog is looking great. You are doing so well for such a new knitter. I taught myself to knit in January but am yet to master crochet. Well done and keep up the good blogging 🙂

  2. Hey congratulations on your blog….isn’t learning a new craft a wonderful thing. Have been knitting for years but still learning all the time. This forum and other places are all so educational.

  3. Thanks for your comments guys! 🙂
    Jominx give crochet a try, I found it easier than knitting. Tess Dawson’s book is good, but the one that I learned the most from was Happy Hooker.


Leave a Reply

Categories

