Posted by: Moggle | August 2, 2007

Sublime Yarn – does what it says on the tin

I’m in love with Sublime Cashmere Merino Silk.

I bought three balls a couple of weeks ago which currently looks like this:

Argosy Scarf 2

It’s an Argosy scarf from Knitty. It’s a really great pattern to do, and once I got the pattern in my head it really seemed to stick. It’s knitted on the bias and I really love how it is coming out. It looks a bit narrow at the moment but when I pinned it (a couple of weeks ago) out it looked much nicer:

Argosy Scarf pinned out

It will still be a narrow scarf – about 6 inches/15 cm but Hopefully my nan won’t mind. It’s a present for her 80th Birthday in November. I have some RYC cashsoft 4 ply lined up to make a version of this for myself at some point. The original pattern uses DK, so I think 4 ply will turn out lacier.

In case you haven’t seen the delicious Sublime yarn, check it out here. I’m also quite intrigued by this page on Knittingfever, who must be the US distributor of the yarn, and it looks to me like they’re adding some new deeper colours for the autumn. I’ve got my finger’s crossed that my LYS gets some of these new dark colours in soon!

I still want to make myself a hat and/or scarf from the red aran too, and am tempted to make a cardi from the Sublime Angora.

I like these yarns so much more than Debbie Bliss Cashmerino because there’s no synthetic in them. That means that eventually when I’m done with my garment (hopefully many years away) and everyone else is too, it could be composted away to nothing – not staying in landfill forever. You couldn’t say that about a synthetic garment!

More on my efforts to avoid synthetics in a future post!

Responses

  1. I love your scarf moggle, I’m sure your Nan will too. I’m knitting with Debbie Bliss Cashmerino now, and like it, so will definately have to try the Sublime one out.

  2. Thanks Pinkarwensocks. Sublime also do an angora merino blend that I’m dying to try but my LYS don’t stock so I haven’t had a chance to fondle.

  3. […] saw the Argosy scarf recently. It hasn’t really changed since then. Other WIPs […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

