Posted by: Moggle | August 4, 2007

Help – what do I knit for my Granny’s birthday

It’s coming up to birthday-o-rama time for me. Between now October and January I have 10 birthdays in the family (in-laws, my family, aunts, uncles, and grandparents).

Most of the nearest ones I have ideas for, but I can’t figure out exactly what to do for my Granny at the end of November (not the Nan who is turning 80 and will be receiving an argosy)

It’s definitely got to be

a) baby pink

b) lacy shawl, scarf or stole

c) quick

d) in a slightly luxury yarn – silk, cashmere, alpaca, extra fine merino.

but I really can’t decide what pattern.

Swirling about in my head are the following yarns and patterns:

RYC silk wool dk in Scallop for a

Branching out

Forest Canopy

Rowan Kidsilk Haze in Grace for

Kiri (PDF available from designer’s blog)

Something from VLT if my library ever gets it in.

Forest Canopy

Pink Lane Borgosesia

for a fine shoalwater shawl (like Mongrel’s gorgeous shawl)

Baby Pink Artesano alpaca cloud

Forest Canopy

Branching Out

I also have a shrug to knit for my little sister’s 30th, a hat to knit for my MIL, something (perhaps beaufort hat) for my aunt, and 2 or 3 sweater designs to make up and knit as well. So it really needs to be fast. As much as I love the look of the fine laceweight, it may just be too slow.

So I’d be really grateful if you could help me out by suggesting which of those options might be best or alert me to any other fast lacy patterns.

Leave a Reply

Categories

