Posted by: Moggle | August 30, 2007

Tilted Duster from Interweave Fall 07

Other than the whole France trip, and seeing my parents for the first time in two and a half years, the other highlight of last week for me was walking in to my local Borders bookshop and spying the new Interweave Knits. I snatched it up immediately! I keep looking in the knitting mag section there every time I go in (every few weeks) but have never seen interweave there before. I don’t know if that is because they all get snapped up, or if this is the first time they have stocked it.

I hope that this means that they will continue to stock it. I think I’d prefer to buy interweave on an issue by issue basis because I didn’t really like anything in the spring or summer ones from this year. I need to get myself a back issue of winter 06 though because there are about 5 or 6 projects from there I want to make.

From this fall issue I like Eunny’s tangled yoke cardigan, sweetheart vest and the mirepoix bodice. I also really like the Tilted Duster from the cover, but I originally thought it wouldn’t suit me – not enough waist definition.

duster

But then I saw this one via a link from craftster and it’s changing my mind. I love it in the charcoal grey! Hmm, let me work out how much it would cost then…

Tension is 17 sts per 4″ – chunky. Second size would take 1,113m of yarn.

Garnstudio Alaska , 14 – 15 balls = £24.50

Tess Dawson merino aran 13-14 balls = £32.50

Debbie Bliss Merino Aran 14-15 balls

Jaeger extra fine merino aran 12-13 balls

Cascade 220 6 balls = £29.94

Rowan Pure Wool aran 9 balls = £49.05 (no way!)

Sublime Cashmere Merino Silk aran 13 balls = £51.74

Some of those aren’t too bad for price. I think you can still pick up the Jaeger merino on ebay quite cheaply. The Rowan Pure wool is a bit of a shock though!

Well I’m of now to block my Argosy. There may not be pictures for a while because our camera card reader has been loaned to my parents.

Responses

  1. The Tilted Duster caught my eye too and it’s great to see the different options and prices to choose from!! 🙂

  2. We have similar knitting tastes! I liked all those from IK this fall too. (and the spring and summer issues disappointed, but I suppose it’s not so easy to come up with knits for warm weather). I also knit myself an Argosy, but I like yours better.

    I’m so glad you’ve been knit-inspired to do the duster! If you’re searching for an inexpensive yarn, I’d suggest looking at knitpicks. I think there are some people on the craftster KAL that are using some knitpicks yarn, and most of KP’s yarns are inexpensive.

    I too would love a jacket/tilted duster/sweater knit from Rowan, but alas, I also have to eat, pay for rent, etc…

    Can’t wait to see your progress!

  3. CanarySanctuary thanks for your suggestion of Knitpicks, but unfortunately they don’t seem to recognize Western Europe as a valid shipping destination. (can you tell I’m bitter about it?)

    For a big wool producing nation, I think there is a disturbing lack of sensibly-priced basic pure wools here in the UK.

    Fortunately, Tess Dawson, who I link to in my post has just started her own range, which I hope will expand in colour selection once it takes off.

  4. I’ve yet to find a copy of interweave but I do like the yoke cardigan. Its great to see the options.
    Another project added to my long list..sigh
    xx

  5. Yes Yansnob, the yoke cardi is gorgeous. I must make a post with a few subs for that because the felted tweed is pretty expensive.

    Merci aux tricoteuses françaises de ces blogs:
    Thank you to the French knitters from these blogs:

    http://piece-montee.blogspot.com/ posted a link to my blog on this blog http://motsetmailles.canalblog.com/ It seems they like my list of subs 🙂

    My french is poor, but I’m going to try to translate 🙂

  6. Just to let you know that I have gone with GarnStudio Alaska. I ordered 16 balls though as some people has added a hem to the bottom to stop it rolling up so I wanted to be sure I’d have enough. I agree totally about the lack of decently priced wool/yarns in the UK which is probably why I keep going back to GarnStudio and the service from them in the UK is FANTASTIC – mine was delivered just 24 hours after ordering.

  7. That’s great Nikki. What colour did you go for? I must order from Garnstudio. So many lovely colours and at reasonable prices. Good to know they have fast service.


Leave a Reply

Categories

