Posted by: Moggle | September 20, 2007

Hempwol from Lanaknits

I’m not doing very well at my vow to not buy any more yarn. First there was the Jamieson’s from Islay. Then this morning I received my order from Lanaknits. It only took 6 weeks it took to arrive – not Lanaknit’s fault, just the slow-boat postage from Canada.

ss850723.jpg

I got 5 balls of Hempwol, 3 skeins of DK hemp in different colours, and a ball of cashmere canapa.

ss850740.jpg

The dk hemp feels like string, but I’m sure it will be fine with a few washes. It’s going to be a crochet belt or two.

ss850738.jpg

The Hempwol is lovely and it is beautifully heathered. I got the shade card too and the other colours are scrummy.

ss850716.jpg

This could be a new candidate for the Tilted Duster. I’m not honestly anywhere near getting started with that, but it’s the thing I’m obsessing about at the moment. So hempwol is US$12 or roughly £5.95 per 100g ball. 5 balls needed for the duster = US$60/£29.80. With postage it comes to US$79/£39.21. That’s still quite reasonable!

This lot is destined to be a sweater of my own design, despite how tempted I am to make it in to a Duster 🙂

I’ve been doing a bit of swatching too in Debbie Bliss Merino Aran. It’s really nice yarn. I’m getting really close to casting on for the Garnstudio shrug for my sister. The DB swatch is a bit boring but here it is any way.

ss850728.jpg

I also have a ball of Sublime Kid Mohair which I have been trying out some lace patterns in. I will try to get a shot of that in the next few days and post that.

I also have a big whinge about Rowan Pure Wool DK to post, but I will save that for another day as well.

I finally got my invite to Ravelry too. I will have to be really careful not to waste too much time on there!

Responses

  1. the yarns are lovely!! Great choice of colours. Will have to let us know how they knit up 🙂

  2. Lovely yarn. You’ll have to let us know how it knits up. lovely shots of islay.


Leave a Reply

Categories

