Posted by: Moggle | October 10, 2007

First year review part 1 – crochet beginning

Although I learned to knit first, my first FO was a crochet hat.

ss850834.JPG

For a first effort I still think it’s pretty good and I’ve been wearing this recently. I read my crochet instructions wrong and only put the hook through one loop, but it still looks fine. It’s mostly following this pattern from headhuggers (It uses US terms). I didn’t use any double crochet (sc in the pattern) at the brim.

I started the rest of the lovely red tweed yarn as a garter stitch scarf but soon got bored with that. So I frogged it and a couple of months later made a one skein scarf from Happy Hooker (view others here if you’re on Ravelry).

crochetscarf.jpg

These are both in Kilcarra Donegal Tweed (from my LYS) using a 4.5mm crochet hook.

I also made a second hat in Debbie Bliss Merino DK for my mother in law for Christmas last year but didn’t take any photos. Actually I made a bunch of hats for Mr Moggle’s family last Christmas and took photos of none!

I’ll post some more old FOs soon.

Continuing with crochet, I found a cheaper alternative to the mohair/silk used in the Raspberry Fizz cardi from my last post. Crystal Palace do a Kid Merino that is available in the UK from Woolly Workshop at £3.95 per ball. The yardage is fairly similar to the Douceur Et Soie from the original pattern, (and to Kidsilk Haze for that matter). I’m guessing about 6-7 balls which will be around £28.

This might also be a good option for some of the patterns in Victorian lace today. The library are taking so long to get it in (I check online almost daily!) that I feel like just buying it!

I’ve also seen a Shoalwater shoal in Wollmeise yarn and I’m thinking that one of their blue-y greens would be nice for Lake of the Woods.

I still really want to do an Autumn Rose too, but Amazon UK are saying they’re not shipping the book until Feb 08 so I’ll have to wait. That’s probably a good thing since I have so many projects that I’m doing or should be doing.

Responses

  1. I’m thinking of getting some Donegal tweed for making a bunch of Christmas hats, but wasn’t sure if the wool would be soft enough.

    Do you find it scratchy or uncomfortable to wear right next to your skin?


Leave a Reply

Categories

