Posted by: Moggle | October 16, 2007

First of many (I hope)

Finally here it is, my very first design.

cherry-4ply-2-sm.JPG

cherry-4-ply-1-sm.JPG

I’m so pleased with it! It fits like a dream. Those holes around the neckline are going to have ribbon threaded through. I’ll have to go shopping on the weekend for the ribbon. There was no way I could wait till then to post the picture!

It’s Tess Dawson Merino 4 Ply and the pattern will be available through Tess’ site some time in the future. I need to check what yarn I have left but I think it took a little less than 5 balls.

I’d better get back to writing up the pattern!

Responses

  1. This looks very well! Excellent work. Also you look great in it!

  2. Love it! The shape of the neckline is great, and it will look even better with the ribbon in it.

    And little less than five balls is very good, it’s always nice when a bigger garment won’t cost you the world in yarn.

  3. Delurking to say that is really pretty. It looks lovely on you. I especially like the detail in the neckline.

  4. Well done Moggle!! That looks fantastic, you must be very proud. It’s a brilliant fit isn’t it! I’m very impressed! 😀

  5. Nice job! It fits well and looks super cozy.

  6. I don’t mean to offend, but I’m not sure how exactly you can claim you designed that? Surely there are plenty around that are exactly the same, or very similar? It is a lovely colour though, and suits you well. It’s just a shame that I’ve heard such bad things about the yarn too. I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

  7. Thats lovely Moggle. I like the way it fits. well done designing a pattern!

  8. Thanks for your comments everyone.

    Miranda, I designed this jumper (I started with a sketch and measurements and then did some maths) because I couldn’t find any patterns like it. I’d love to know where the one(s ) you are talking about are available from – I could have saved myself a lot of hours of effort. I realize the shape is fairly basic, but I’m not claiming to have come up with a new style of garment.
    I’m surprised you heard bad things about the yarn. I found it really nice to use, as I say in my post.

  9. Your jumper looks fantastic. Well done.
    I agree that you did design it.
    It is perfect for you, colour and shape.

  10. Hi there I think it looks fab. Wish I was that clever and lokked that good. Well done you! Annejx

  11. I think it’s a lovely jumper and wouldn’t mind getting a copy of that pattern when it’s available. I’d love to be able to design my own knitwear, but not sure it would turn out to be wearable!


Leave a Reply

Categories

