Posted by: Moggle | October 21, 2007

Happy Knitiversary to me!

It’s one year yesterday since I re-learned to knit. I love having a hobby that I can do just about anywhere, I can pick it up and do 30 seconds worth and put it down again, and I end up with something useful at the end of it. I also love being able to pick what fibres I wear.

It took me until the last few months to get up the nerve to knit in public, but I have now knit on the train to London, the ferries to the Isle of Wight and Islay, and in the car park at Focus DIY (that was yesterday!). I have also done loads of knitting in the car – mostly on A roads and motorways, I get a bit queasy on the country lanes.

Rather than list projects in the order I did them, today I’m going to share my favourite projects for the year. Some of them have already been seen on this blog, but some are new.

First up is the Argosy Scarf from Knitty. I loved knitting this pattern. It’s easy enough to memorize, but complicated enough to keep it interesting. The yarn is a dream to knit – Sublime Cashmere Silk Merino (no I’m not on their payroll, but I should try to negotiate a pay-per-mention fee!). This still hasn’t been sent off to my Nan for her birthday in early November, so I better get a move on!

argosy-finished-2-sm.jpg

Next up is the Beaufort Hat. I knit this back in March/April for my friend’s birthday. I love this yarn too – Rowan wool cotton – and it’s a very dear friend I knit it for and I knew she would appreciate the effort that went in to a handknitted item, so the whole thing was just a joy to knit. And it’s red which is my favourite colour. The original pattern uses aran weight yarn, but I saw a gorgeous one in DK on Bente’s blog where she’d added a couple of extra pattern repeats, so I did that too. I cast on 96 stitches instead of the 84 called for in the pattern. I have some silver-grey RYC wool silk to make one for a birthday present, and I’d also like to make one of these for myself.

beafort-hat.jpg

Then we have the chunky moss stitch beret. I followed a debbie bliss pattern from Easy Knits. The original pattern is in aran weight for toddlers, I used Jaeger extra fine merino chunky on 6mm needles and I think I added a couple of centimetres before doing the decreases. I have been wearing this a lot lately. This is not a great photo, but it does show the beret in use – on Islay a month or so ago.

The extra fine merino feel so soft and nice! It’s a shame they’re not making any more of it.

beret-2.jpg

Another Debbie Bliss pattern, the Argyle Slipover from Special Knits. This used the leftovers from the Beaufort Hat. It may have even been less than one ball of the main colour for the 6-12 month size. The argyles were done in leftover wool cotton from a different project. This was my first go at two-colour knitting and I’m very pleased with the result. I made this for a friend’s baby who wasn’t born at the time so It needed to be a unisex colour. I like bright colours on babies any way. I want to make another one of these for a different friend’s baby and I’m thinking Sirdar baby bamboo in lilac, a neutral and green. I know green sounds a bit odd but I think it will work.

Vest 3

In my next year of knitting I’d like to get a pattern or two published. I also want to improve my fairisle technique and learn to steek. Lake of the Woods, Tilted Duster, Tangled Yoke and Autumn rose are all on my to do list, along with some lovely lace from Victorian Lace today (when it eventually arrives at the library).

Responses

  1. Happy anniversary!! Mine’s coming up too, I’m going to celebrate by buying some yarn (original eh!)!
    Your knitting’s brilliant, I particularly love the scarf at the top, it’s so effective!

  2. Hi, it’s RachelL from the AY forum, I’m a first time visitor over here. Nice blog! Your knitting looks great and I’m really impressed with your sweater which does indeed fit like a dream. Happy knitversary 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

