Posted by: Moggle | November 4, 2007

Additions to my lace queue

Friday was a pretty good day for me. Not only did I have a great day at work, but Victorian Lace Today finally arrived at my local library. I requested that the book be added to the library stock way back in April so it has been a long wait. My library now seem to realize that UK knitters CAN understand US knitting books.

I spent most of Friday night with the book on my lap and Ravelry open on the laptop. This is one of my favourite things about Ravelry – the ability to look through everyone elses FOs of a particular pattern. It helps you see what the pattern can look like in other yarns and in the case of garments, can let you see what it looks like on a real person – not a stick thin model. I used to spend a lot of time searching out FO pics of wishlist/queue patterns to help work out if they would suit my body shape and/or what size to make.

Obviously with VLT there’s no sizing issues, but it is nice to see what yarns others have made their VLT projects in. I also like seeing other colours too – I sometimes find it a bit hard to visualise an item in other colours.

My favourites so far are:

Melon Shawl (from the cover).

vlt24-thumb.jpg

This one was made by Littlemouse who is a member of a forum I frequent. I have 2 balls of Kidsilk Haze in that colour (trance), unfortunately that is not enough for the shawl.

1463548072_8617d6f53f.jpg

Alpine lace scarf.

alpine.jpg

I love Soo‘s gorgeous purple one of these.

dsc00138.jpg

These both take a lot more laceweight than I already have in my stash. I do however have 2 balls of Jamieson’s Ultra (400m), and the two KSH in trance (450m). So I am deciding between two of the narrower scarves to be my first VLT project – the double bordered scarf, and the scarf with french trellis border.

french-trellis.jpg double.jpg

The KSH is sort of earmarked for a Wisp, so I am leaning towards the Jamieson’s but then I think I could always buy more KSH do a different coloured wisp. I still have a print o the wave on the needles too, so I should probably try to finish that before casting on more lace.

Decisions, decisions!

Responses

  1. i have yet to knit something from VLT, some really stunning stuff 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

