Posted by: Moggle | November 8, 2007

A couple of little issues

I’ve been having a bit of a problem with the drops shrug. The pattern tells you as you approach the middle of the back section (knitting from cuff to cuff) to put 4 lots of 10 stitches on a holder over sucessive rows, then to add them back in after you have passed the centre back neck. It instructs you to pick up a stitch in the gap, then knit the two stitches together to avoid a hole as you return the stitches to the needle.

As you can see this hasn’t worked out very smoothly for me.

ss850946.jpg

Yuk! I’m a bit annoyed because this shrug has been my easy, can read while doing it, project. I was a bit hopeful that blocking was going to even the stitches out a bit but it didn’t. I think I’m going to rip it back and do short rows instead. Other than the lumpiness I’m happy with how it’s going so far. This is the closest photo I have to how the colour looks in real life.

shrug1.jpg

I also ripped back my alpaca crochet scarf. I had used up about half my yarn and it wasn’t long enough. I’d also left it too long to start the openwork. I could have just bought an extra ball of yarn, but it was kind of like a challenge to keep it within the yardage I have. If this pattern is any good I may offer it for free and I want it to be affordable for people to make.

I am actually a bit worried that I am allergic to the alpaca. I keep getting a sore scratchy throat, and i can’t work out if it’s always after working with the alpaca. It would be a real shame if I am allergic, because I love the softness and fluffiness of alpaca.

Responses

  1. dont you just hate it when things go wrong? If you aren’t happy with it, frog it, its more work but the end result will be better and you’d be happier

  2. One of the things I love about crochet is that it grows very quickly so if you do decide to frog it, it’ll not take all that long to get back to where you are now. Your scarf looks lovely and I’ll happily have a go at it if you decide to post the pattern 😀

    Have you thought about knitting your two shrug sleeves separately and then grafting them together at the back of the neck?


Leave a Reply

Categories

