Posted by: Moggle | November 18, 2007

Random thoughts

Probaby the first of many posts with lots of unconnected bits and pieces.

I decided on Thursday morning that I want a new beret. I’m thinking some kind of lace in a wool/silk. And purple, because I want it to go with the purple cords and jumper I was wearing when I thought it up. Watch this space!

Perhaps that should be my first stab at a pattern for The Inside Loop. Hurrah to Diane and Kate for starting this up and I wish them all the best. I love knitty and magknits but I’m often frustrated by having to find substitutes for yarns that are hard to get here, or almost impossible like Knitpicks. I know lots of places ship internationally, but then you have to have the worry of if you are going to be stung by customs, and postage often sends the price up a lot.

Anyway I’m excited because Diane and Kate don’t specify just knitting, paving the way for some home-grown crochet designs – I hope. I have a couple of balls of some Sublime Kid mohair that I am working on an idea for. Cross your fingers for me and wish me luck!

I have become obsessed with a couple of new patterns. The first is from Blue Sky Alpacas and is a really cute vest. But this picture from ravelry was the one that caught my attention:

1076959272_87c6b2f79d.jpg

It uses one strand of their brushed suri and one of alpaca silk. Both these yarns are a bit hard to get ahold of over here. It has a tension of 18 sts on 5mm needles so I was thinking of just using a fluffy aran yarn, or perhaps two strands of artesano inca cloud.

I’m also spending a bit of time thinking about doing a fairisle yoked cardi – a bit like this one but more girly. Not sure if I want a zip like that one or buttons. Like most of my other pattern obsessions, it will probably take a long time for me to actually get the yarn and get something done. But I like the dreaming and planning!

I’ve made a lot of progress this weekend on the alpaca scarf. It’s now about 3/4 done. I’m going to go to the end of the lattice before blocking now, I’m fairly certain that I will get the length I want for it.

I also bit the bullet and picked up the green shrug again. I’ve frogged and started the mid-back as short rows with wraps. I’ve never done wraps before and short rows only once so I will just see how it goes. I had to un-do the first couple of short rows already because I put them in the wrong place, but I think I have the gist of it now. Once I’m past those it should be pretty easy and brainless again until I get to the mega ribbing I have to pick up around the whole neck/body edge.

Responses

  1. I love that vest! It’s stunning..

  2. I was just thinking how great it would be if there was a new online mag out there. Fantastic!

  3. Ooooh… I really like that vest.

  4. Wow, you have lots on the go! Good luck with the beret pattern….I hope to see it in the Inside Loop! 🙂

    And I love that vest, too. Now I have to add something else to my ravelry queue. Sheesh, this is out of control!


Leave a Reply

Categories

