Posted by: Moggle | November 26, 2007

Past the half way mark

Hurrah, I’ve got past the dramas with the drops shrug and I’m now well over the half way mark with the main part. I did do short rows for the mid-back. I’m not sure they went in exactly the right order but it was close and they’re pretty much invisible compared to the awful puckers and holes I had before.

ss850993.jpg

I’ve now re-joined in the round to do the sleeves so it’s back to reading while knitting with this project – that should make it go fast!

There’s going to be a load of ribbing to do around the edges – picking up around 225 stitches. I’m going to need a long 4.5mm circular for that.

I was sort-of joking in my last post about getting some knitpicks options needles. But I’m starting to think it would be a great idea to get a set. My main problem is do I get wood or do I get metal? I like the couple of pairs of addi turbos I have but I also like bamboo needles. I need to have a good think about which is more important to me – slippyness on wool and wool/cotton projects (I rarely use pure cotton) or grip on silky and lace projects. If you’ve used either of these needles I’d love to hear your thoughts.

With the shrug being so close to finished, and the alpaca scarf almost done too, It’s time to think about casting on something for me! Still deciding between another modified Beaufort hat or an Urchin.

My local Borders FINALLY got in the winter issue of Interweave. I still really love the Ivy League vest, and the article on sleeve caps will be appreciated as that is one part of knitwear design where I have to work very hard to get it right.

Responses

  1. I like both types of needles to be honest. But if you’re really set on bamboo, try the new Knit Picks Harmony needles. They seem to be a lovely set. I’ve only just got my KP’s and it’s the metal ones, but I’m thinking of buying the Harmony needles as well. I’ve made a couple of hats with the metal ones and it’s been fine so far. I just want them for my collection *bad girl* šŸ˜€

    Ohh.. still waiting for my copy to turn up….


Leave a Reply

Categories

