Posted by: Moggle | December 2, 2007

Speedy hat

So quick that it didn’t even make it in to my WIP sidebar is my second Beaufort hat.

beafort-20-sm.jpg

Pattern: Beaufort from Knittitude (beaufort on Ravelry)

Yarn: RYC silk wool DK – a couple of metres short of one ball.

Needles: 3.25 and 4mm circ. (Bodged with both circs for last 2 rounds as I don’t have 4mm dpns or another 4mm circ)

Mods: Cast on 96 (9 pattern width repeats) stitches same as my last Beaufort. Worked 1.5″/3cm ribbing, 8 lace pattern repeats (of 4 rows) then worked decreases as set.

beafort-2-sm.jpg

The silk/wool is gorgeous to knit with. This is a really fantastic and fun hat pattern, and in my opinion would be a great easy and low-commitment beginner’s lace pattern if you don’t want to bother with a whole scarf/shawl. As you can see it is a pretty snug hat, but that is how I like them – I hope that is how the recipient likes hats too!

I haven’t finished a project in such a short time since I don’t know when. I cast on for this last Sunday and finished yesterday.

Since I bought 2 balls of silk/wool I can either

1. Make one of these exactly the same for myself (my aunt lives in Aus so there’s little chance we’ll wear them in the same place at the same time.

2. Re-purpose the yarn for a different hat – I also have some sublime CSM that I could use instead.

Responses

  1. I really like it and that yarn is perfect! Looks lovely on you…

  2. That is a great hat! Looks fantastic on you….

  3. […] family really are brilliant! My aunt (receiver of Beaufort mk 2 which she says she loves and can’t wait for it to get cold enough to wear) sent me Jo Sharp […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

