Posted by: Moggle | December 18, 2007

Ode to the felted join

Felted join, how do I love thee, let me count the ways.

1. A felted join is a bit like voodoo magic. The first time you do it it seems amazing and you aren’t sure it will really work until you do it.

2. No ends to weave in at the end of your jumper.

3. Takes about 30 seconds to do, then you are back knitting. It’s almost as fast as tying a knot.

4. No ends to weave in.

5. More invisible from both sides than a knot and woven ends.

6. No ends to weave in.

Are you getting my felted join love?

Ever since I started knitting I’ve dreaded running in ends. It’s just so time consuming and messy. The stripy hat I did for my mum for Mother’s day was terrible – the yarn was doubled so I think I ended up with about 40 ends on the one beret!

What I’ve done for the last couple of projects is just felt all possible joins. You still end up with a starting and a finishing end, but two ends is not so bad.

There are excellent instructions for the felted join here (half way down the page under ‘joining yarn’), but essentialy you tease out the plies on your yarn, stick the ends in your mouth to moisten (or a cup of water if you’re being more ladylike). Then you layer the plies from each end together, place the now single strand over your palm with the part to be joined in the middle, and gently rub your palms together. The moisture and heat generated felt the yarn!

felted.jpg

Wools and alpaca felt. What I’ve used here is Sublime CSM which has cashmere and silk in it too.

Afterwards your yarn does look different where you have felted the join. It will be a little thicker and on shinier wools like merino it will lose some of it’s shine. Wool and silk blends will look a bit dull on the join. Once knitted up and blocked it will barely be noticable. Can you spot the join in this?

swatch-1.jpg

Well you can – the felted join becomes a couple of bulky stitches. I think this will even out a lot in blocking. I wouldn’t want to have that right on the bustline on the front, but this is the back of the cardi and probably won’t be noticable when it’s being worn. The second join on the back of this cardi occurred on a side seam and will be even less noticable so I will see if I can do that intentionally next time instead of by accident.

I don’t have much else to share. I’m doing a lot of un-bloggable knitting. I’m loving having the opportunity to do some designing, but the secrecy is really hard! And I just want to stay at home and knit and pattern-write instead of going to work! Damn those living expenses!

I ran out of yarn for my Beaufort the third! I will try to post about that in the next few days.

Responses

  1. Oh, how I love felted joins–I learned how to do them and never looked back.

    Plus, it’s kind of fun to stick the yarn in my mouth and call it a technique.


Leave a Reply

Categories

