Posted by: Moggle | January 18, 2008

Two and a half balls of merino aran

So here is the shrug blocked and being modeled. It’s a bit big on me but that is okay because it’s not for me. This is ready now to put in the post to send to my sister in Australia.

shrug1.jpg

Pattern: Drops Shrug 89-13

Yarn: Debbie Bliss Merino aran – 9.5 balls

Needles: 5mm addi turbos and 4.5mm bamboo circular

Mods: Knit sleeves in the round, separated and knit flat for the back portion, then joined in the round again for the other sleeve. Used short rows rather than the technique on the pattern which left puckers in the back.

Overall I’m pretty pleased with this. The back has a few bumps from the shortrows, but I’m not sure what else I could have done.

My argosy is now finished too and blocking. Hope to have a photo in the next day or so.

The title of the post is the leftovers from the shrug. As soon as I cast off I started thinking about what I could make with them:

Fetchings

Calorimetry

Maple seed hat (sister of beaufort)

Utopia Hat

With so many projects complete or nearly complete, it must be almost time to cast on for the sea wool Monkeys!

Responses

  1. The shrug looks lovely and yep, I agree, it sounds like it’s time to cast on for those Monkeys!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

