Posted by: Moggle | January 20, 2008

Not a sock virgin any more

I did it! I cast on for my first ever sock.

I’m making monkeys with the gorgeous peridot sea wool on my new Knitpicks Harmony DPNs.

monkey.jpg

This is after two lace pattern repeats.

The sea wool is as lovely to use as I hoped from the look and feel of the skein. There does seem to be a slight twist issue where the plies try to unravel a bit on me, but it’s still fabulous yarn.

The harmony dpns are also fantastic. The perfect amount of grip, but slippy at the same time.

I can’t wait to see the looks on my colleague’s faces tomorrow when I use 5 little needles at lunch time.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you’ve broken into socks! Socks are the best, you’ll be glad you started. And Monkeys are a nice intuitive pattern, too.

  2. Monkeys are great — you’ll love sock knitting!

  3. Yay! Welcome to the world of socks! 🙂

    There are ssssssooooooo many great sock patterns out there too.. you’ll definitely find that having a sock on the needles at all times just becomes habit!

    They look absolutely beautiful.

  4. The yarn and pattern look great together. Been wanting to do these for ages, but haven;t found the right yarn yet.
    I’m sure you’ll be totally addicted by the time these are finished.

  5. Oooooooooooooh. *paws at it* That colourway is incredibly gorgeous–even more so knit up.

  6. Yes!!! Resistance is futile- to socks that is. They wear you down eventually, especially on Ravelry.
    Well done you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

