Posted by: Moggle | January 27, 2008

Adventures in sock land

It was time for the scary jaws music this weekend (or whatever music freaks you out and makes you think something bad is coming).

I’d finished the 6 lace repeats of the monkey sock and now I was in to uncharted territory – heel flaps and turns.

My sock looked like this:

ss851358.jpg

I’d actually got to the heel part thursday night but was just too tired both thursday and friday nights to learn how to do it.

Cookie A’s instructions in the pattern are really straightforward. First the heel flap:

ss851386.jpg

Then turning the heel (sorry about the fuzzy photo)

ss851387.jpg

And then the gusset decreases, which I finished today. I’m now back to the same number of stitches on all needles and I just have to work the length of foot I want.

ss851390.jpg

I was having a bit of a freak-out for a few minutes about having enough yarn, but weighed what I have knitted (38g- weight of dpns) and what I have left and I think the 20g I have left should be enough.

Now I can breathe a sigh of relief because I’ve accomplished the new technique without too much trouble. I did discover that I started the heel flap a few rounds too early (mid pattern repeat), and I also had to do some jiggery-pokery with decreases because I started them two rounds too late. I’m sure it will all look fine in the end.

Responses

  1. Those are some interesting looking socks. They look so comfy cozy!

  2. Hurray! Congratulations on the heel turn. Then you can move on to things like slip-stitch heels and eye-of-partridge. The world is your oyster with sock knitting!

  3. Your socks look great! The heel looks perfect too! I just started knitting socks too, so I understand about being in uncharted territory!

  4. They are stunning, well done & welcome to the addiction!!!

  5. Great looking socks. i like the yarn colour

  6. your socks look so cosy and thick!!! Can i borrow them? My feet are cold, i like them


Leave a Reply

Categories

