Posted by: Moggle | February 16, 2008

A pair of Monkeys

I finished my monkey socks last night.

ss851499.jpg

Pattern: Monkey from Knitty [Ravelry]

Yarn: Fleece Artist Sea Wool colour Peridot. [Ravelry] Purchased from Get Knitted in Bristol.

Needles: Knitpicks Harmony 2.5mm DPNs (also from GK)

Mods: None unless you count starting the heel flap 3 rounds to early a modification! It made no difference anyway.

Verdict: An excellent pattern for my first pair of socks. The pattern is so well written the only thing I needed to look up online was how to graft (Knittinghelp.com again). The lace pattern was easy to memorize after the first few rounds. It was great lunchtime knitting apart from when I knew the heel turn was coming up and then the toe shaping. It took me 4 weeks to finish these, only because I didn’t knit them in the evenings so I could knit them at lunchtimes.

The sea wool is gorgeous yarn. I just love it. It is starting to fluff up a bit so only time will tell how the socks wear. You can see the slighty fluffiness in this photo.

monkey-1.jpg

I didn’t wait to block them (right side sock in the photo isn’t blocked) but put them straight on last night to keep my feet warm during the current cold snap. I’m really not sure how the yarn will hold up to regular wear and tear and I know I’m going to be a bit precious about these being my first pair, so I will probably keep them as bed socks.

Note to self: Taking a photo of your feet from the front with your camera propped on a book only makes your already big (UK9, Us 7-8) feet look huge!

ss851498.jpg

Later today I will be casting on some man-socks for Mr Moggle in Garnstudio Fabel.

I have been flittering between lots of projects this week including cherie amour and branching out but don’t fee like I’ve got far with anything. I also received some yarn for a new design so have been swatching to get the stitch pattern just right.

Responses

  1. They look great! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow! Those are your first ever socks? That’s amazing! I think they put most first socks (mine included) to shame. Really nice job! They look scrummy, so enjoy wearing them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Wow, great first socks. I’m sticking to your basic sock, but you have me inspired.

  4. Ooh, they’re pretty!

  5. Hurray! Congrats on your first pair of socks. Now, make more ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. very adventurous for a fist pair of socks! They’re lovely.

  7. Cuuuute! They look fabulous, and the yarn must be delicious.

    Pictures of socks on my huge clodhoppers never look as nice. =D

  8. Wow, they’re fab! I’ve got to make me a pair of those…

  9. Those look great. Monkey is my fave sock pattern at the moment – it just works well with so many yarns.


Leave a Reply

Categories

