Posted by: Moggle | March 25, 2008

Koolhaas finished

This was such a fun and quick knit.

The yarn is absolutely delicious. I was worried for a while that being a single ply the fuzziness was going to get out of hand, but it seems to be okay so far. I’ve tried to capture the halo of the fabric with this photo.

ss851673.jpg

The colour isn’t quite right in that photo though.

kool-small.jpg

Pattern: Koolhaas hat by Jared Flood from Interweave gifts 07 or from the Interweave pattern store.

Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas Suri Merino – from Get Knitted in Bristol

Needle: 5mm addi turbos and 4mm inox circ.

Mods: None

This was an extremely well written pattern and very easy to follow. You cross every stitch every 4 rows, which was quite daunting at first. After the first cable row I found that it became easier because the same two cable crossings are repeated to the end of the round, then you have a nice easy k2p2 rest row. And after one pattern repeat I could see the pattern working up so nicely it became almost addictive.

It’s turned out bigger than most of the hats I wear but that means it will keep my ears warm I hope. It’s like wearing very fluffy warm cloud on your head!

ss851676.jpg

I think Suri Merino might be my new favourite yarn, and I just have to find a scarf to go with the hat.

Responses

  1. It’s a great hat! I love the Suri Merino too and am just waiting for another opportunity to get my grubby mitts on some!

  2. wow, this is beautiful. I have this on my list and I so need to cast on now šŸ™‚

  3. It’s a great hat. Love it.

  4. fabulous hat.

  5. I love it! Nice job. And it sounds like deliciously scrummy yarn, so I’ll have to give it a try! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

