Posted by: Moggle | March 29, 2008

Is it a vest or is it a tank?

I think here in England I’m supposed to call it a tank, but that just doesn’t sound right to me, so I think I’ll have to keep calling them vests. Whatever they’re called I’m having a bit of an obsession with them.

I now have yarn for three – Ivy League and two of my own design, one knitted and one crocheted. I am also still waiting for the silky wool for honeycomb. So that will make four vests!

I think one of the reasons is because having one will allow me to wear shirts. Because of my body shape I swore off shirts for years. If it fitted in the waist it didn’t do up, or if it fitted across the chest it swamped my waist. I’ve had an Marks and Spencer stretchy fitted shirt (a bit like this one) for about 6 months and it looks pretty good under a purple jumper I have. And a vest is less commitment than a whole jumper.

I may start one of the ones of my own design after I’ve finished cherie amour. I’ve done one sleeve, and I’m fairly pleased with how it came out. It’s still drying out from being blocked last night. I wanted to check how my modifications look after blocking.

I made it to the knitting group again this week. I had my first recognized FO – a few people admired my Koolhaas. I’m not having much luck with taking projects though. The first time I took something too complicated (branching out) this week I neglected to take a new ball of yarn with me and didn’t have much left on the old one.

I’ve had a busy week at work leading up to the end of the financial year on Monday. The work won’t stop there, and we have 3 further weeks of ‘closedown’. I will be well and truly ready for my holiday to Tasmania at the end of April.

No photos today, sorry about that!

Responses

  1. I too used to avoid shirts, and now I have the exact same experience having knit the Ivy League – vests seem to demand the button-down shirt underneath! I just need ones that won’t pull in on my broad shoulders too much 😉

  2. I have the same problem with shirts, it can be really hard to get one that fits well if like me you’re a bit “busty”. I’ve been thinking about making a vest all winter as it’s been so cold!

    (I always think of vests as tank tops btw although that sounds really seventies now :s)

  3. We still call them tank tops een though it reminds me of Frank Spencer!!! Ooh Betty!!!

  4. How funny to think about the little language differences, isn’t it? To me a tank top is what you would wear underneath something (well, in the summer I’ll be spotted wearing them on their own in my garden, at least!)–skinny straps, made of cotton. Knitted woolen things that you wear over stuff are vests, of course! 🙂

    Can’t wait to see how you get on with yours, though….I’ve been thinking about making one from some Freedom Spirit I bought a while back. But I might have to buy a new shirt to wear under it, now that I think of it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

