Posted by: Moggle | April 10, 2008

In search of perfection

Sometimes I get obsessed with a particular pattern or yarn and then I spend a lot of time thinking about what is the perfect match for it. Right now I have both a yarn and a pattern on my mind.

The pattern is the Shetland Triangle from the book Wrap Style. I’ve admired the many many many versions of this on Ravelry for a while now, but the obsession stepped up a notch last week when the book finally arrived at my local library after being on order for months.

Now I can’t actually see myself wearing a triangular shawl outside the house, but fact that we turned our heating off a week ago (and the following cold snap over the past week) has convinced me that I need a shawl for the chilly evenings in our little single-glazed flat. I really like the versions in thicker yarns (DK), and I like the ones where there is some silk content.

Some of the yarns I have considered are Fleece Artist Camelspin, Manos del uruguay silk blend, RYC wool silk and Colourmart cashmere/silk blend, and Debbie Bliss alpaca silk. Then last night at my knitting group I saw a GORGEOUS triangular shawl made in Cascade ecological wool. I’m sure I will have a lot of fun pondering this one over the coming weeks. Please feel free to make suggestions – I need between 300 (if using DK) and 500(4 ply) metres of yarn.

The yarn musings are about the Fino I bought recently. Do I want to make something from Victorian lace today with it? Or Muir, or Sarcelle? I did Ravelry’s fantastic new ‘experimental search’ using multiple criteria – ie ‘laceweight’ ‘800 yards’ ‘stole or shawl’ and came up with a few options.

Of course I could easily solve both problems by making the shetland triangle with the fino, but then I wouldn’t need to buy more yarn!

Perfection is also having lovely flat centre-pull cakes of yarn which are only possible with a ball winder. I bought one last week through a forum. It’s used, but still in very good condition and I had lots of fun using it.

Makes the fleece artist sock yarn look perfect

Responses

  1. I think the Cascade sounds lovely for the Shetland. And I love yarn cakes too! 🙂

  2. Those Shetland shawls look gorgeous. I agree, the ones with some silk content look fabulous

  3. […] A little over two months ago I posted about two lace knitting dilemmas. Essentially what to do with my Fino, and what to make a Shetland Triangle shawl […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

