Posted by: Moggle | May 21, 2008

Purple shrug

Here she is in blocking all her purple glory.

Pattern: Two-tone shrug by Stefanie Japel from Fitted Knits (ravelry pattern link)

Yarn: Jo Sharp silkroad aran tweed in Potpourri – 2.5 balls (gift)

Kathmandu aran tweed in Lilly – 1.5 balls (Yarn and fiber company)

Needles: 3.5 and 4.5mm knitpicks harmony interchangables

Mods: Knitted sleeves in the round instead of flat to avoid seaming.

This was a fun pattern to knit and I feel like I learned a lot about the top down raglan construction. I love the lack of seams! This was my ‘in the pub’ knit because it was so easy.

The only reason it took so long is because I didn’t knit it all the time and because I had the long break in Australia without any knitting.

I’m convinced that the two yarns are exactly the same, just re-labeled. The wool/cashmere/silk content is exactly the same and even the colours look similar. There are bits of vegetable matter in the yarn in places which is annoying, but I think I have most of them out now.

In the end I think I could have made the shrug from the 4 balls I had, but I played it safe and bought the extra yarn. I wore the shrug to work today and got several comments of approval from my co-workers.

Responses

  1. Niiiiice! Looks great, and I bet the yarn’s delicious.


Leave a Reply

Categories

