Posted by: Moggle | June 8, 2008

It’s my party and I’ll ply if I want to

I told myself that I couldn’t afford a spinning wheel and I didn’t have space for it in Moggle Towers (AKA a 1-bedroom flat) and I was not going to get one. Despite this Friday found me in the car with Mr M on the road to Milton Keynes and P&M Woolcraft.

I came home with this:

Which after around 45 minutes work from Mr M looked like this:

It’s an Ashford Traveller and it’s wonderful.

I also tried the Joy and Traditional from Ashford, and a Victoria from Louet. I really liked both the Joy and the Victoria but they were a lot more money and I wasn’t sure they were worth the extra.

I quickly set to work spinning up some of the Humbug Blue faced leicester that I bought to add to the fibre stash.

Just before posting I was spinning some merino/silk blend. I’ll post pics of that soon.

Responses

  1. WOW! I’m impressed. I have been wanting a spinning wheel but won’t have enough cash for another couple of months. Very jealous of yours πŸ™‚

  2. Looks good! πŸ™‚ Are you going to add a finish to it? The spinning is looking lovely.

  3. Yay! The Traveller is a great wheel – it will take you a long way πŸ™‚ The humbug looks awesome too!

  4. A wheel!

    I’m getting pretty close to ordering a kiwi from Wingham woolworks – maybe next month…

    your bluefaced leicester looks great!

  5. Wow that looks wondeful. I’d love to try spinning. your spun BFL looks great too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

