Posted by: Moggle | August 17, 2008

Falling for patterns

There’s something about fall magazines that seem to catch my interest. Last fall it was the Tilted Duster and Tangled Yoke from Interweave Knits fall 07. I still haven’t made a tilted duster, but I am working on my tangled yoke.

Having too much free time on my hands has lead to more pattern obsessions from fall 08 magazines.

I thnk I already mentioned how much I love the Riding To Avalon Hoodie from the fall 08 Knitscene.

Looking through the actual magazine rather than the preview, I decided I also really liked the Opulent Raglan by Wendy Bernard.

One of my favourite jumpers (despite being yukky acrylic) is this shape – I usually wear it with a cami or scoop neck t-shirt underneath. I’d really like to replace that jumper with a handknit. I found an online shop where the yarn specified in the pattern is reasonably priced making the knit around £25 which isn’t too bad.

On my lazy way back home from lunch with a friend on Friday I walked through my local borders and flicked through the latest Vogue Knitting. I’ve not been a big fan in the past, and I’d see the preview online but nothing really grabbed me, but like the opulent raglan, the glossy photos of pattern number 28 called to me but I resisted temptation and put the magazine back.

When I got home I checked ravelry and saw that several people had queued the hoodie (it’s also known as green gable) which lead to the search for FOs which made me decide I REALLY want to make this. I may ask my friend who visits the states a lot to bring me back a couple of hanks of cascade ecological wool on her next trip for this pattern.

I got nowhere near what I wanted to achieve in knitting and spinning on my 3 days of leave, but I did finish my first sleeve of tangled yoke and cast on a second. I also finished a couple of pattern repeats of print of the wave, and spun the rest of the green merino/silk for my shetland triangle.

I start my new job tomorrow morning. Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. Good luck today at your new job!

    (Your spinning is looking superb by the way. 🙂

  2. Hope the job went well!

  3. Hope your first day went well – the green merino silk looks beautiful, it reminds me of Felted Tweed in appearance.


Leave a Reply

Categories

