Posted by: Moggle | October 1, 2008

You know when you’ve been Tangled!

Mr M kindly took a few quick photos before work today.

Tangle-y details:

Pattern: Tangled yoke cardigan by Eunny Jang. Interweave Knits Fall 07 or from the knitting daily store

Yarn: Rowan Felted Tweed in shade Rage. 6.5 balls.

Size: Smallest – 32″ I think

Needles: Lots – 3.75 and 3.5 knitpicks harmony options. 3.25mm addi circs. 3.0mm clover dpns and 3.5mm metal dpns (thanks gershmabob for lending me yours)

Mods: Began with 3.75mm needles at hem, changed to 3.5mm after a few inches (when I realised my tension was off). Stayed with 3.5mm apart from sleeve ribbing. Used 3.0mm dpns for garter rib of sleeves. Changed to 3.5mm dpns after garter rib. Re-distributed shaping (approximately every inch I think). 3.25mm needle for neckband and button band.

Buttons: Hand made polymer clay ‘swiss roll’ in red-brown and pale grey.

The Tangle experience:

I couldn’t be more pleased with this! I deliberately knitted size to fit my waist but a little to small for my bust with the intention of leaving the top part unbuttoned most of the time. I think I will normally wear a scoop-neck underneath and it will hopefully be quite flattering.

The pattern was fairly easy to follow as long as I concentrated. I kept missing the decreases and increases on the yoke cable and having to frog. The most uninspiring part was the sleeves, and having to do the second one. Luckily they were fairly mindless, so was able to watch films and listen to audio books and got through the second sleeve relatively quickly.

I bought some shell buttons a few weeks ago, but they didn’t look right. So I made my own and I’m pleased with how they came out.

I wore it to work yesterday and to my knitting group tonight and it was much admired.

Responses

  1. Very nice! The colour is so covetable.

  2. Fab! I LOVE the colour! I know what you mean about the arms – my Tangled Yoke is languishing because I’m so bored of the arms. I’m knitting them both at once on a magic loop and I’m only managing about 4 rows a night…

  3. Fabulous! I love the colour you chose – makes me wonder if I should have picked something less subdued than I did. I really want to cast on right now – but must finish at least one of the other four (!) garments I have otn first I think.

    And the buttons are just perfect 🙂

  4. It’s absolutely beautiful! You must be so pleased with it! xxx

  5. It’s gorgeous! That colour is absolutely stunning.

  6. Wow, lovely! That colours is fabulous, and it fits you perfectly. Well done.

    I love your handmade buttons, too. How special is that?!

  7. As i said last night, i’m really impressed. it fits you perfectly, and it going to be great this time of year.

    be very proud of yourself! 😀

  8. Fabulous!!!

  9. Fabulous fit and I love the way you made it so that it opens out at the bust, Im inspired to swatch for mine 🙂

  10. Moggle, I didn’t realise you actually made the buttons yourself! Is there anything you can’t do? The whole thing is fabulous 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

