Posted by: Moggle | October 12, 2008

Knitting and stitching mini-haul

I’ve finished my shetland triangle. Project monogamy really works! I’ll put the photos up in the next few days.

I thought before the excitement fades I’d share my Ally Pally experience. I woke up before my alarm went off at 6:50 this morning, which is a real rarity for me on a sunday, I normally love my weekend lie-ins. Mr M was kind enough to drive me down and accompany me on my trek around the stalls.

Some of my favourites in no particular order were: Lantern moon needles, namaste needle binder and Fleece Artist camelspin at Purlescence; Sublime’s new organic wool, loads of sock wool at web of wool and the Lang Yarns stand, Fyberspates gorgeous yarns, spindlefrog’s fibre at the Socktopus stand, and Manos del uruguay – I can’t remember which stand now. I could have spent an hour at the Natural Dye Studio stand.

There was also a stand selling lovely silk fabric so I bought a piece of silk/cotton blend that I’m going to try dyeing up to be made in to christmas presents.

I ended up not buying a lot – just some undyed bfl fibre to be dyed up for the shop, some undyed yarns to try, and a heavenly packet of Natural Dye Studio superwash bfl roving.

Sorry that second photo is a bit rubbish, but you get the idea of the colour at least. I’m going to try to spin it up very finely.

Responses

  1. … Oooo. PRETTY colours on the roving.

  2. Wow, that’s very restrained! 🙂 I didn’t go this year, but don’t feel too bereft. Every year I buy yarn and never use it. I still have a pack of yarn from my first visit back in 2005…

  3. How did I miss the fibre at Socktopus? Must look more carefully next time. I thought I’d touched every single item at that stall before buying my Camelspin.


Leave a Reply

Categories

