Posted by: Moggle | October 29, 2008

The kindness of strangers

I’m almost embarrassed to post about this because I feel a bit like I don’t deserve it. A fellow raveller saw a post I made on the UK Weavers board on Ravelry about wanting to get in to weaving and offered to give me their unused Rigid Heddle loom.

So I am now the proud owner of a loom. I started a small project as soon as I got home with the loom on Sunday.

This is some leftover alpaca yarn with the leftover handspun from my shetland triangle. I’m hoping the loom will be a faster way to use up yarn, especially handspun and allow me to produce more handmade gifts that aren’t hats and scarves. I finished this little piece of fabric, but don’t know quite how to finish it off. I think I am supposed to wash it and ‘full’ it but not sure how to go about doing that.

I’ve also been spinning up some of the Zwarbles fleece I scoured a while ago. I’m attempting to spin a ‘worsted’ weight yarn to make an Opulent Raglan from Knitscene Fall 08.

The zwarbles felt a little harsh on it’s own so I blended it with a bit of grey alpaca and white bfl and it’s now lovely. I have nearly a bobbin and a half of singles, and I’ve also knitted up a small swatch to check my ultimate tension. It’s a bit off but I’m close enough I think and it’s a raglan so should be easy to modify if necessary.

I also did a batch of fibre dyeing for the etsy shop on the weekend and ended up with these Corriedale/tencel and bfl/silk braids.

After that big update, I think I need to go and lie down.

Responses

  1. Wow, you are lucky, knitters are ever so kind. Your spinning is beautiful πŸ™‚

  2. Lucky you! I’ve always wanted to try weaving, but I’ve promised (like spinning) to wait until we have a bigger house…I think! It sure turned out pretty. And your dyed fibre is beautiful – the one on the bottom makes me think of east coast Tassie oceans…

  3. Ooh, pretty fibre!!! πŸ™‚

    You are lucky! And your first piece of weaving looks fab!


Leave a Reply

Categories

