Posted by: Moggle | November 18, 2008

A lot goes on, but nothing happens

Craft-wise most of the last week feels like this. The short, overcast days are not helping – it’s difficult to take photos of in-progress projects and spinning.

I went to the Guild meeting on Saturday, and it was great to see what everyone had been up to since the last meeting. We formed a little ravelry group again. Unfortunately we had to de-camp from our regular meeting place because the village hall was double-booked. We were able to set up in the church across the road, but it was pretty chilly in there and I hadn’t taken enough woollies!

I’ve spun most of my bfl/tencel sock blend and should be ready to ply soon.

I received some Cascade 220 last week from Get Knitted. My Grandad-in-law asked if I would make him a hat in a specific colour – bottle green. He offered to pay for the wool and my time to knit it, but I’m going to make it a present instead. It’s just a simple 2 x 2 rib pattern.

I’ve also been doing a fair bit of dyeing and blending on the drumcarder. This batt with milk protien blended with BFL turned out pretty nicely. I thought this would be like soysilk, and in a way it is, but it has a much longer staple and I’m going to make a sample batch for me to test how it spins.

ss853848

I’ve also become quite obsessed with Pagan from the latest Kim Hargreaves book (with thanks to Mooncalf who let me look through her copy). If you know of a cheaper sub for Rowan Big wool that is readily available in the UK please let me know!

Hopefully I’ll have more photos and a bit more content next post!

Responses

  1. That blue looks completely gorgeous. *pets it*


Leave a Reply

Categories

