Posted by: Moggle | December 13, 2008

First finished Fern Glades

The lovely knitters whose FOs I linked to yesterday gave me permission to show their photos on here:

Knittingpharm‘s Fern Glade in Felted Tweed

fern-glade-3

 

Knitsnthings‘ Fern Glade in two strands of Jaggerspun Highland Heather 
fern-glade-1

Thank you ladies for letting me share these photos!

Some Tasmanian knitters (I can’t quite say ‘fellow Tasmanian knitters’ can I? –  I’m not there at the moment) were quite excited to see their home state mentioned in Knitty, and are planning a Fern Glade KIP in Fern Glade – the place on the slopes of Mount Wellington the pattern was named after. If they manage to organise it for February, I might even be able to join them. 

Other patterns I liked from Knitty were Amelia, Amused, Maja and Poinsettia. (I’m still getting over the fact that my pattern was published alongside those of Norah Gaughan, Anne Hanson, and Laura Chau – some of my favourite designers!)

 

Aside from all the Knitty craziness, I’ve become a little bit obsessed with this cardigan from Fall Vogue Knitting:
2685334547_4eb33a9f25_o

It’s the Forestry/Old Penny cardigan. I have to admit I didn’t look much past the styling of the photo in the magazine – it doesn’t do much for me in this picture. Several lovely versions on Ravelry (with buttons) came to my attention this week and this cardi has become a bit of an obsession. I have to decide if I want to knit this in a regular DK, Cascade 220, or Kilcarra Tweed, which my LYS stocks. Sadly I don’t think there will be enough of the Cascade I ordered as part of my Christmas present.

I had a lovely day at the Christmas guild meeting today and got loads of spinning done. I have at least another skein’s worth of the grey yarn I’m spinning for my opulent raglan so I can get back to knitting that.

I’ll try to get some photos of my WIPs in the daylight tomorrow. I hate it getting dark at 3.30pm! I’m counting down the days till the shortest day of the year on the 21st December.

Leave a Reply

Categories

