Posted by: Moggle | December 25, 2008

Merry Christmas and Happy Winter Solstice

I love plenty of things about living in England but one thing I don’t like is the short winter days. 

So I tend to get more excited about the arrival of the solstice than I do about Christmas itself – especially being so far from my family.  I will be very glad to see the days get longer from now on – it was a bit hard to tell this week because it was overcast the whole time.

I worked right up until yesterday (Christmas Eve) although we did get to go home a couple of hours earlier. I don’t go back till Tuesday 30th, so I have another 4 days off after today!

Christmas has been pretty good to me knitting and spinning-wise. As well as the sliding hook flyer and the spindle from Mr M, my Aunt sent me some fibre – Tasmanian Alpaca and wool.

ss854321

She also sent me the latest Jo Sharp pattern magazine. This pattern in particular caught my eye:

8010

It’s a cardigan that also reverses as a shrug. My mind is still boggling a bit about how it’s done. It also uses a variety of Ms Sharp’s yarns between sport weight and Aran which would come to about £50, so I’m trying to have a think about substitutes. I wonder if I could work some handspun in there. 

I finished spinning up the NDS roving earlier today.

nds-bobbin

I’m going to ply it this afternoon. 

Merry Christmas to you all!

Responses

  1. Merry Christmas to you too Moggle. Some great presents there!

  2. What’s the cardi/bolero pattern called? Is it on Ravelry?

    I love the look of the ‘ready to be plied’ yarn.


Leave a Reply

Categories

