Posted by: Moggle | January 1, 2009

2008 – my year of knitting selfishly

It’s the time of year of reviewing and resoloutions. I looked back at a post I made early last year and it was something I copied from someone else’s blog called the ‘best of 2007’. I still like the format and I’m going to do a  ‘best of 2008’ in the next day or so, but I want  to assess the goals I made at the beginning of the year.

a. Get a design published in 3 areas – online, in print and self-published.

All three areas achieved! I’m so pleased about this.

b. Fix Ivy.

I haven’t been able to bring myself to un-do the seams on this and re-knit. I put it on a couple of weeks ago and decided the sleeves were still baggy, but not the disaster I’d previously though. I’m just going to wear it as is I think.

c. Experiment with a faster method of knitting.

I did experiment to a degree and learned the norwegian purl, but found that a bit awkward and didn’t really pursue it. I either need to have a designated ‘continental’ project and just get on with it, or accept my current english style.

d. Knit and crochet more for me.

I definitely did this one! 2008 was my year of selfish knitting. I knit 3 gifts (hat, scarf and socks) and everthing else was for me.

e. Try at least one of the following yarns: Blue Sky alpacas suri merino, Alpaca with a twist Fino, Artesano alpaca 4 ply alpaca.

I tried Suri Merino (I love my koolhaas made from it) and artesano 4 ply, both of which I loved knitting with. I bought some Fino, and I’m going to make some kind of lovely lace with it.

f. Focus at least equally on crochet design as well as knitting.

Check here too. I have one published knitting pattern and many crochet ones. In fact I now want to focus back on knitting design a little more.

g. Experiment with crocheting laceweight yarn.

Didn’t really do this one. I’ve discovered that I don’t really like knitting laceweight, which puts me off crocheting it. I might carry this one over to 2009.

h. Knit an Eunny Jang design this year

When I wrote this I think I was talking about one of Eunny’s fairisle designs. Although I didn’t knit one of those – I  did knit her tangled yoke.

Happy new year to you all!

Responses

  1. Well done on your achievements in 2008! All the best for 2009!

  2. I think you will find crochet with lace-weight yarn goes much faster.

    I never thought I would like crocheting with such small yarn (lace-weight and crochet thread), but I have made several projects this year with just that.

    I enjoyed looking at your blog.

  3. Well done on achieving all of that!! Last year seems to have been very successful for you! Wishing you lots of success and happiness for this year too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

