Posted by: Moggle | February 5, 2009

Sweater planning

OK so my major goal for this year is to knit myself some more sweaters.

The A list – these are sweaters I definitely want to make

Puff sleeved feminine cardigan – Stefanie Japel, Fitted Knits (DK)

Forestry – Veronik Avery, Vogue Knitting Fall 08 (Aran)

Embellished V-Neck – Leah Sutton, Vogue Knitting fall 06 (Worsted)

Green Gable hoody – Mari Muinonen, Vogue Knitting Fall 08 (Chunky)

Vivien – Ysolda Teague, Twist Collective Winter 08 (Aran)

Ivy League – Eunny Jang, Interweave Knits Winter 08 (4-ply)

Thermal – Laura Chau – Knitty (4-ply)

The B list – sweaters I might like to make

Slinky Ribs – Wendy Bernard, Custom Knits (DK)

Jane – Wendy Bernard, Custom Knits (Worsted)

Favourite Cardigan – Wendy Bernard, Custom Knits (Aran)

Eyelet Cardigan – Jo Sharp, Knit issue 5 (Sport)

Gathered Pullover – Interweave Knits fall 07 (Sport)

Ginny – Kim Hargreaves, Amber (Sport) – just to be able to use felted tweed again!

Amelia – Laura Chau, Knitty Winter 08 (Aran)

The C list – Yarn in stash in sweater/vest quantities

Cascade 220, Colonial Blue Heather (5 balls – 1000 metres)

Sublime Angora Merino, Clover (10 balls – 1200 metres) – I ordered some at a bargain price and I’m still waiting for it to arrive

RYC Cashsoft 4 ply, grey (10 balls 1800 metres)

Silk Wool (8 balls 800 metres) – for a vest design

Harrisville Designs New England Shetland (6 skeins 1080 metres) – enough for Ivy Leage Vest

Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, Woad (4 skeins 702 metres)

I’m still not quite sure how I’ll match it all up. I bought the cashsoft to make Thermal probably a year ago now. I keep putting off casting on for some reason. The silky wool I bought to make honeycomb from Knitty, but now I’m wondering if I could squeeze a small ‘slinky ribs’ from it.

I can’t decide whether I want to use the 220 for a long sleeved puff-sleeved cardi (someone on Ravelry has), or the embellished v-neck. I’m so chuffed I got sublime angora so cheap, and I’m considering using it for the Jo Sharp eyelet cardigan – I read somewhere that knitting angora more densly can reduce shedding.

I won’t be doing any sweater knitting while I’m in Australia (I leave on Saturday), so I’ll just wait and see what takes my fancy when I get back.

Responses

  1. plenty to keep you busy then!? Have a wonderful time in Australia….oh that warmth!

  2. Thats my plan too,plenty of sweater knitting! Your lists will keep you very busy! Enjoy your trip to Australia! Think of me in this freezing UK weather 😦
    xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

