Posted by: Moggle | February 28, 2009

Spinning + beer = good day

I had a very good day yesterday. I spent the morning in the sun at the Bothwell Spin in, afternoon wine tasting at Moorilla vineyard.

Bothwell is about an hour’s drive from where my parents live in Hobart. We drove up for the first day of the spin-in, not quite sure what we were expecting.

We saw sheep shearing and alpacas.

alpacas

There were quite a few stalls selling fibre.

fibre-artist-in-her-natural-habitat

fibre-stall-2

I was in search of something that I couldn’t get back in England. There was plenty of interesting fleece (including cormo which I would love to try!) but I wasn’t sure I’d be able to take it back in to the UK. I settled for some hand dyed Polwarth Silk in purple and green. I was seriously tempted by some Schaefer yarns merino/silk/nylon but was restrained in the end.

The higlight for me was getting to spin some coopworth on an Ashford Joy, and some merino on a Majacraft Rose. I now want a Rose!

trying-joy

trying-rose

I also saw an interesting custom-made wheel based on a majacraft, and someone was spinning some australian alpaca on a Golding drop spindle (an antique rose I think). I also briefly met up with a couple of Ravellers.

In the end it was like a big guild meeting – but with more demonstrations, exhibitions and with some sellers. There was some beautiful work displayed in the main hall.

On the drive back to Hobart we stopped off at Moorilla vineyard to do a bit of wine tasting. We ended up tasting about 10 wines plus 5 beers. The vintage bubbly was delicious as were these beers!

moo-brews

We finished the day by having a barbie.

Responses

  1. What a great day! Love your pictures, taken on very good moments!

  2. That sounds like just about the perfect day!

  3. Ooh, sounds like a fabulous day.

    Love the alpacas–so cute.

  4. At first I thought the beer was CAUSING the spinning — but upon further reading I see I was (as ever) mistaken! šŸ™‚

    Sounds like you are having a fabulous time.

  5. Have loved reading your blogs of your trip – makes me homesick! Glad you had a great time. And your shrug looks great!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

