Posted by: Moggle | February 28, 2009

The Fern Glade knitalong

When Fern Glade appeared in Knitty back in December, some Southern Tasmanian Ravellers were excited that their lovely home state was mentioned. They decided to have a knitalong and when I mentioned I planned to be back in Tasmania in the next few months, they were kind enough to delay the start of their knitalong until I could be there.

knitalong-1

knitalong-2

knitalong-3

The original plan was to meet somewhere near the Fern Glade track, which was where I pinched the name from. Sensibly though they decided to meet somewhere where we couldn’t be rained on or windblown (Hobart weather can go from Summer to Winter in about 10 minutes) and we met at a lovely Turkish restaurant called Pashas in Elizabeth Street North Hobart. Co-incidentally it was 2 or 3 doors down from a shop where I worked when I was a teenager.

We met in a small function room upstairs (the regular meeting place for the group) and ate dips, fudge and baklava and drank tea, coffee and wine. And of course did some knitting!

Thank you to the Tassie Knitters group for choosing my pattern, for organising the start day around my schedule, and for making me feel so welcome. I had a wonderful time.

Responses

  1. You’re welcome and thanks for coming along. We enjoyed meeting you and it was great to see the original Fern Glade in person. Wish I’d taken a pic with you in it!

  2. What a great story – sounds like you’re having an amazing trip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

