Posted by: Moggle | March 9, 2009

Holiday goodies

By saturday the jet lag had begun to improve and I felt up to taking these photos.

Hand Dyed Polwarth/Silk blend fibre. The Polwarth breed was developed in Australia. I have an idea for a shawl pattern forming in my mind for this. Going to try to spin it 4-ply ish.

polwarth-silk2

This the yarn I spun while on holiday from Tasmanian merino-cross fibre. The skein on the left is one ply cd spindle spun, and one ply on the wheel – which wasn’t quite working right at that stage and is underspun. The skein on the right is more consistent and nice and sproingy.

merino-cross

Jo Sharp alpaca kid lustre. Purchased at half price.

al-kid-lustre

Second pair of socks knit on the trip. These will be for Mr M when I get off my butt and do the sewn bind off (I cast off normally so I could have my dpns to cast on a third pair)

mr-m-socks

The aforementioned third pair. I cast these on towards the end of the flight from Singapore to Heathrow. These are for me.

pink-socks

I’ve re-opened my etsy shop and I’m planning a dyeing session later this week. I also put in an order for some yarn and I’m looking forward to that arriving.

Responses

  1. Ooh, lots of fibery goodness 🙂 I love the colour of the Jo Sharp alpaca!

  2. I’ll just be over here, sitting and waiting until I get paid on Thursday so I can pounce on your shop. I had a good look/drool earlier today. =D

    The colours in that Polwarth/Silk are amazing. Love the orange socks, too.

  3. Sounds like a lovely trip! We are hanging on going back home after nearly two years in the USA. I know the lady whose family bred polwarths in the 1860s.
    I made a fern glade, btw. It is in my ravelry projects under yarnivorous.


Leave a Reply

Categories

