Posted by: Moggle | March 19, 2009

Smooooossshy

Another yarn that does what it says on the tin. This skein of loveliness arrived at my flat on Monday. It’s a huge skein and is really squishy. The colour is gorgeous too. I must try dyeing my own semi-solids.

smooshy

The artist’s palette also arrived. The colourway doesn’t have a name, just a number. I think I’ll call it spring fog 🙂

artists-palette

The smooshy will almost definitley be viper pilots, but I’m still not sure quite what the green yarn will be. I have a half-formed sock pattern rattling around in my brain based on 2×2 rib. I might use it for that.

Last night I got my act together and finished Mr M’s socks which I knitted while on holiday. I had to first un-do the regular cast off which I had done on the plane (I didn’t think I’d be allowed a metal yarn needle) and then do a sewn cast off. He wore them this morning. I’ll take a photo when he’s here and can model them. I got my red/pink/orange socks to an ok length and then scoured the internet for a sewn 2×2 rib cast off. I found this tutorial with piccies and I’m fairly happy with how it turned out.

I did a bit of dyeing last weekend – the first lot since I’ve been back. I’m quite happy with it, particularly with the yarn.

a-woodbridge-yarn-2pirates-bay-yarn

a-temperate-rainforest-yarn

a-tower-hill-16_3crayfish-2

All apart from the middle one went in to my etsy shop.

Responses

  1. Niiiiice sock yarn! Is that Vino Veritas? I like that shade but have still not knitted with it. Mmm, Smooshy…


Leave a Reply

Categories

