Posted by: Moggle | April 1, 2009

The birth of The Thylacine

I’ve been thinking about re-branding my etsy shop for quite some time.

In the rush of excitement of starting the shop, and my attachment to the name I’d chosen, I decided to use Warratah Fibrecrafts. This was despite my knowing there was a hand dyer called Waratah Fibres in Australia. At the time, I thought the deliberate mis-spelling of ‘waratah’ to ‘Warratah’ looked nice, but recently it started to just look like a spelling mistake, and I became more uncomfortable with having a name close to that of another dyer.

So now I’m The Thylacine. Thylacine is another name for the Tasmanian Tiger, which is often used as the symbol of Tasmania. I’ve had the idea in my head of the thylacine stripes made from yarn or fibre in my head for a long time, before I even had the etsy shop.

I’ll be stocking the same fibre and having some yarn too, and some other interesting bits and pieces too when I get time to do them. I’ll be offering a discounts (15% on yarn and fibre, and 10% on my new clubs) to existing customers and blog readers until 10th May. Quote the code WADISC in the message to seller section and wait for me to re-ivoice you to claim your discount.

Click here to go to the new shop.

Leave a Reply

Categories

