Posted by: Moggle | April 6, 2009

Blissfull broadband

Phew, we got broadband back on last thursday. It seemed like a very long time we were without it,  but it was less than two weeks in reality. I liked getting out of the habit of being on the internet all evening. Hopefully I can keep that up.

You would think I got a lot of knitting done, but I didn’t. I think that’s because I was getting used to a new schedule (getting up and going to work earlier) and then the clocks changed to British Summer Time so I was a bit tired for the second week.

I’m now on annual leave again, and I don’t go back until after easter. I had a load of stock of both yarn and fibre delivered to me last week, so I spent half of today doing a bunch of dyeing. I’ll be doing some more over the next few days.

Last week I dyed up some merino/camel. It came up beautifully and I was tempted to keep instead of listing it in the etsy shop.

in-vino-veritas

Instead I decided to dye up around 50g for myself. This is also to tie in with a competition that my guild is having for our exhibition in May this year. We are asked to enter an item produced using on of the disciplines of the guild  – spinning, dyeing or weaving – inspired by the Wordsworth poem ‘Daffodills’. At first I was thinking of the obvious yellows and greens of daffodills, then I decided I wanted to do something a little different. I took the phrase ‘the bliss of solitude’ from the last verse of the poem. That inspired some muted pinks, purples and blues and the result was this fibre.

guild-poem-fibre-2

I’m trying to spin it up to around 4-ply weight and then I’ll probably make a cowl out of it.

I’ve also picked up my jo sharp Origami shrug again. I’m actually quite close to finishing it. Just a few more rows of lace and then a collar of moss stitch and I’m done!

Leave a Reply

Categories

