Posted by: Moggle | April 18, 2009

Getting clucky – but not in the way you’re thinking

Sorry for the lack of posts recently! I got lots of things accomplished over the Easter break, and then found getting up at 6am again difficult – which meant I was too tired to post in the evenings.

My post title refers to getting chickens (or chooks as we Aussies call them). We bought treated pine to make the chicken house  during the week, and I just have to wait for Mr M to make it. It’s going to look a lot like this when it’s finished.

I did finish the ‘Bliss of Solitude’ cowl.

cowl-1-awb

It only took me a few hours of actual knitting time. I cheated and didn’t weave in the ends for the photo – I just hid them out of sight. The merino/camel knitted up beautifully and it’s so soft and lovely. I just need to weave in the ends and then it’s ready to go in to the guild competition for our exhibition at the end of May. I’ve already seen some of the other entries and they’re all looking great.

I spun up and some more of the polwarth/silk today at the guild meeting, then plied it when I got home. I’m playing around with ideas to make a pattern for a shawl out of 100g of hand-dyed fibre plus some undyed fibre. I spun half the fibre with long matching colour repeats. I spun a quarter of the fibre with short colour repeats. I was intending to spin the last quarter with even shorter repeats for a fractile effect, but instead decided to drumcard it with some white shetland.

I’m almost finished the origami bolero too. In fact I’m going to go and work on it now.

Responses

  1. Gorgeous cowl! I love the colours and pattern!

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing the finished bolero.


Leave a Reply

Categories

