Posted by: Moggle | May 28, 2009

Origami Bolero finally finished

It’s been finished for almost a month, but I put off weaving in all the ends for ages. In the end I cheated and wove in at least two at a time. I didn’t dare count how many or I never would have started.

Origami Bolero front

Origami Bolero back

Pattern: Origami Bolero by Jo Sharp [Ravelry link]

Size: Small

Source: Jo Sharp Knit Issue 7 (Christmas gift from my Aunt)

Yarn:

A. Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran – Beige, 2 balls (180m) overdyed grey
B. Alpaca Kid Lustre (dk) – Verona (dark blue), 1 ball (111m)
C. Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran – Potpourri (purple), 1.75 balls (175m)
D. Sublime Cashmere merino silk (dk) – Powder Blue, 1 ball
E. Alpaca Silk Georgette – Briar (mink brown), 1 ball (130m)
F. Hand dyed, drumcarded and handspun shetland in grey/blue

Needle 5.0 mm knitpicks options.

It was quite fun to knit, although changing yarns each row produced all those ends, it kept things interesting. I was hoping to be able to wear it as a jacket, but it isn’t long (wide) enough to overlap under the bust to use my shawl stick on. I can wear it the other way around, with the blue moss stitch bit as the collar, but I don’t quite like how it sits.

I’m quite pleased with how the colours combined, considering I mostly used what I had in stash.

Leave a Reply

Categories

