Posted by: Moggle | June 28, 2009

FO: Garter Yoke Cardigan

garter yoke 1

Pattern: Garter Yoke Cardigan by Melissa LaBarre from Knit 1 Fall/Winter 08

Yarn: Cascade 220 in shade #9326 Colonial Blue heather

Needles: Knitpicks/Knitpro harmony interchangeables 5.0 mm

Mods: Knit as per 36″ then I did additional decreases to give waist stitch count for 34″ size,  then followed the pattern for that size. Picked up 5 additional stitches on each underarm when starting sleeve (I have had gappiness there on previous raglans), then decreased in 4 pairs over 6″ to remove these stitches and make the upper arm fit snugly.

garter yoke 3

I loved every minute of knitting this cardigan. It went really quickly because of the thickness of the yarn (worsted) and I loved knitting with cascade 220. I’ve been trying out taking the train to work for the last couple of weeks – it takes longer, but I get plenty of knitting time, and a lot of this cardi was done on the train.

I think I will wear this lots in the cooler months.

garter yoke 2

Responses

  1. The cardigan looks fabulous. I can’t wait to see it on Wednesday (although it’s probably too hot to be cardigan weather at the moment).

  2. Its lovely. That colour really suits you too 🙂

  3. Wow, it looks amazing! To be honest, I hadn’t really thought much of that pattern in the mag, but your’s is really lovely! Might have to look again at the pattern now…. 😀

  4. That looks lovely!


Leave a Reply

Categories

