Posted by: Moggle | July 6, 2009

Taking care of business

I’ve done it! My employer has approved my request to go down to 4 days a week. This means I will have a dedicated day for dyeing fibre and yarn.

It was the prompt I needed to quickly submit my paperwork to be a vendor at Fibrefest. I’m excited and terrified at the same time. I have a little bit of stock, but I really need to get busy on Fridays (my day of ‘working at home’) to have enough stock for the show.

I’ve recently added another exciting fibre to my range – British Alpaca. I uploaded these braids to my etsy shop yesterday:

Collage 20090704

It’s really soft and doesn’t have any coarse hairs in it which I’ve found before with fibre that’s been labelled as ‘baby alpaca’. This feels almost as soft as the cria fleece I bought last year.

It spins up in to a soft and fluffy yarn. The natural colour is on the left and ‘Broadmarsh’ on the right.

sample spun uk alpaca

I may have to pinch one of the braids to spin up for the Tour de Fleece, which I am participating in again. In case you haven’t heard about this before, the guideline is to spin every day of the Tour de France. I’ve had a dodgy start and didn’t manage to get any spinning done on the first day, but managed about half an hour last night.

On the subject of business, my sister has opened an etsy shop selling her gorgeous hand made cards (my favourite is still ‘Best Fishes’). Please go and have a look – postage seems pretty reasonable from Australia too!

In knitting news, I finished a pair of socks for Mr M. I’ll get pictures of those in the next day or so.

Responses

  1. Good luck on your new venture! Those braids look great. I’m dropping Mr Josiekitten some (unsubtle!) hints about a spinning wheel for b’day/Xmas/wedding anniversary gifts this year, so I may well come a-visiting once I get more proficient. Do you spin directly from the braid, or do you have to card it and make rolags?

  2. Congratulations! That’s such exciting news.

  3. Really hope the going down to four days a week works out well for you. I used to do four days and it make a massive difference, just don’t got caught up in housework! I don’t think thats likely somehow… 🙂

  4. I work 4 days too, it’s so lovely to have a bit more free time for spinning-related hobbies!


Leave a Reply

Categories

