Posted by: Moggle | July 24, 2009

Silver lining spinning

As I said in yesterday’s post I finished spinning and plying the grey merino.

Meadowbank plied

Fibre: My (The Thylacine) Grey Merino top in Meadowbank

Details: 100g, 2-ply construction, 11-12 wpi (roughly worsted), 142 metres

Notes: I tried to spin one ply with long repeats and one with short repeats (fractile I think?). I pre-drafted a bit to combat the stickyness of the part-felted fibre.

Overall I’m very pleased with how it came out considering I thought this fibre was a disaster a week ago. It fluffed up and spun up nicely in the end. I’m going to spin a second braid of this.

I just deleted a couple of paragraphs where I debate whether to turn this in to a shawl or a Liesl cardigan, but typing it out has made me realise that I want to make the cardi. I can either have it on display at fibrefest, or wear it if it’s cool enough.

I ran another braid gently through the drumcarder and started spinning it up.

Meadowbank singles

The resulting singles remind me of Peruvia (which I have an unhealthy obsession with) and I think I will be making more batts and more yarn like this. This yarn will probably end up for sale at Fibrefest.

I finally got around to taking photos of the socks I made Mr M.

AP socks 3

These are in Artist’s Palette Pop Sox, in colourway PS4025. I took the toe pattern from Express Lane and then added ribs again. I haven’t had any socks on the needles for a few weeks now and I’m getting a bit twitchy.

I got lots dyed today and I’m hoping the rain stays away so I can get it all dry.

Responses

  1. The yarn is gorgeous, and you did a fabulous job on the socks.

  2. So excited for you – having a day a week to spend on your business! Your yarn looks fantastic too. Sorry I haven’t seen you much lately – things have been a little crazy here, but hopefully it’ll calm down soon!

  3. Hope you got a good drying day. I starting spinning the oatmeal bfl/silk yesterday and it’s looking lovely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

