Posted by: Moggle | August 24, 2009

And we’re back again

What a weekend! After a not-so-early night we woke up at 4.30 half an hour before the alarm was due to go off. We’d packed the car the night before and we were on the road with the last few bits and pieces by 5.15am.

We arrived at Coldharbour Mill by 8.00am, and frantically set up. Most other stallholders had set up the night before. After a flurry of work our 2 x 2 metre space looked like this:

Stall setup

The’d had a lot of rain the night before and the ground was a bit damp, so I started out with my wheel on plastic. It slid around so I ended up taking it off.

Stall setup 2

Mr M hand-carved and painted a sign for me. Some lovely friends helped me out by spinning and knitting up some of my fibre.

Clockwise from left – Grey merino in ‘Sutton’s Tarn’, UK alpaca in ‘Howrah’, both spun by Catherine; Stacked eyelet cowl in ‘Bliss of Solitude’ Merino/Camel spun and knitted by me; Damson Shawl in ‘Charlotte’s Cove’ superwash merino/seacell, lace socks in ‘Harzview’ superwash merino/nylon, and Monkey socks in ‘Cherry and Espresso’ oatmeal bfl/silk, all spun and knitted by Liz; Lace ankle socks in ‘Tarkine River’ BFL/Kid Mohair spun and knitted by Gillian.

Item display

Saturday was quite busy and I was quite nervous to start with. But once we’d made our first sale things seemed to go more smoothly. After a delicious meal and a good night’s sleep at our fabulous B&B on Saturday night I found Sunday was both quieter and more enjoyable. I got to look around a lot more and chat to people more too. I also managed to make a few purchases that day (more on that when I’ve taken photos)

The highlight for me was having four other hand-dyers whose work I admire make purchases from me.

I met and spoke to lots of lovely customers, ravellers and other stallholders. A big thanks to Mr M for his help driving and then carrying, assembling and moral support. I had a great time and we are pondering if it’s worth doing another one – perhaps Wonderwool?

Responses

  1. What a great booth! Very nice organized and attractive for any knitter/crocheter/spinner!
    Well done!

  2. What a stunning looking booth! Beautiful fiber and yarns, all. If I’d been at your fair I would have bought something for sure 😉

  3. Oh wow! What an exciting weekend ….. sounds like it went well. Your stall looks really lovely;very inviting! I LOVE your colour combinations Moggle, especially the ‘Tarkine River’ BFL/Kd Mohair 🙂 Ros

  4. Glad it went well! Love the colours!

  5. Sounds like a great weekend 😀

  6. Hi ! I saw you there. Wasn’t it a lovely weekend ? The Gotland is gorgeous 🙂

  7. […] Liz’s Damson in Superwash Merino/Seacell (or see it in my blog post from Fibrefest) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

