Posted by: Moggle | August 29, 2009

When too much knittng is barely enough

Baby Bonnet 1

Pattern: Top Down Bonnet by Hello Yarn

Yarn: Rowan Milk Cotton DK in Aniseed

Size: Followed directions for smallest but used thicker yarn.

Needle: 3.75mm Knitpro

Another item for the due-in-3-weeks Nephew. I packaged this up with the cardi and it should be almost in Aus by now. I was really pleased with how the milk cotton knitted up and I will probably make more baby items out of this.

Baby Bonnet 2

The colour is showing a bit duller than it is in real life in these photos. It was my first time doing i-cord and I was surprised how easy it was!

Baby Bonnet 3

.

.

Liesl front 2

Pattern: Liesl by Ysolda Teague

Yarn: Handspun Thylacine grey Merino in ‘Meadowbank’ colourway. 200g, 260 metres,  2-ply construction, approx 12 wpi.

Size: Followed instructions for 34″

Needle: 7mm Knitpro

Pattern version: wide-neck, cropped with sleeves

Liesl back

I finished this just in time to wear at Fibrefest. I cast on the 34″ size thinking I’d just button it at the top. My yarn was probably a bit finer than the pattern calls for and I wasn’t too particular about guage and thought I could stretch the lace pattern a lot. It’s ended up a bit smaller than I really intended but I love how it fits.

After soaking for blocking I spun in the machine to help it dry fast and fulled the fibre slightly again. However it still blocked out nicely and fits great as a shrug. I knit the back till I thought I had enough yarn for sleeves, then knit half the remaining yarn as the first sleeve. My spinning must have been a bit uneven because I ran out of yarn on the second sleeve a repeat short of the first sleeve. Luckily I had a bit of singles left on one bobbin which I quickly plied up and was just enough to finsh the second sleeve.

I really love this pattern and I’ll probably make another one.

Responses

  1. That is a sweet hat. Your Liesel is gorgeous.

  2. These are gorgeous. I love the little hat and your cardigan is great.

  3. Your ‘Liesl’ is really gorgeous. I think it overtakes the original :). Love the yarn you’ve used too. That’s such a cute baby bonnet. I’ve made two or hree baby items recently in the Milk Cotton and I agree, it knits up beautifully. Have a good week, Ros

  4. It is a lovely bonnet! The yarn is a great choice.
    Also, the liesl is quite flattering 🙂

  5. Ooh, gorgeous Liesl. Love the yarn.


Leave a Reply

Categories

