Posted by: Moggle | October 6, 2009

Weaving mojo

I’ve been feeling guilty for a while about my neglected rigid heddle loom. But a few weeks ago I had a bit of inspiration for a combination of yarns for a project, and I made time on the weekend to warp up the loom.

I seem to have lost my reed hook and threading hook in the process, but I made do with a crochet hook and a bit of wire.

I’m using Oatmeal BFL millspun for the warp and handspun oatmeal BFL/Silk for the weft.

Jansz spun sm

I really like how it stripes, but they’re blended stripes. I used the fractile method to spin the fibre so one ply has long repeats and one has shorter.

Jansz weaving

The big stick shuttle is doing my head in so I’ve ordered a boat shuttle to see if I like that any better.

Responses

  1. Great weaving project – I like the colour gradations.

  2. Wow that is really exciting! The loom is a nice size too. My mother in law apparently has one to give to me, but its so massive it won’t fit in our house! And I haven’t a clue how to do it either. Looking forward to seeing your finished weaving 🙂

  3. Lovely yarn and weaving. I used to have a loom and found the shorter shuttles better. Didn’t try a boat shuttle though.

  4. Scarf looks lovely! I love organic striping.

    And erk, yes. Those giant long shuttles are only great if you’re weaving something, well, as long as they are. For smaller projects they get in the way.

    … I admit that, with the aid of a band saw, I cut a yardstick into pieces and added the appropriate groove-and-circle cutouts to make a bunch of smaller shuttles. They work great.


Leave a Reply

Categories

