Posted by: Moggle | October 18, 2009

First woven FO

First weaving 3

First weaving 1

First weaving 2

Warp: Millspun oatmeal BFL (sport/light DK weight)

Weft: My (The Thylacine) Oatmeal BFL/Silk in ‘Jansz’ handspun as 2-ply approx 14wip

I’m really pleased with how this turned out. My selvedges aren’t as tidy as I’d like them to be but they seemed to be neater once I’d washed the scarf in the machine.

I really like how the stripes came out on this. It has a bit of drape due to the silk content and I’m wondering what other yarns I can use, particularly for warp that will encourage drape. I have plenty more of this BFL and some grey shetland too, so I’ll probably be weaving up a few more of these scarves in various colourways.

Responses

  1. Good job, looks wonderfully comfy!

  2. I really like it! Having to stop myself from trying to touch it through the monitor 😀

  3. The scarf is great – I’ll be thrilled if I can weave anything as nice as that. Having lots of fun playing with the loom.

  4. It looks lovely – the colors make a pleasing gradient.
    Congratulations on finishing your first weaving project!

  5. Ooooh, that’s pretty. ❤

  6. Lovely scarf and colours!


Leave a Reply

Categories

