Posted by: Moggle | October 21, 2009

Happy 3rd Knittiversary to me!

Well the title says it all really. It’s been three years since I picked up knitting needles and crochet hook on the same weekend and learned how to crochet and re-learned how to knit.

It’s completely coincidental that last night I decided to cast on for the Ivy League vest. Hopefully this project will conquer one of my remaining knitting fears – steeking.

Ivy League start 21_10_09

This is just the first three rows. I’ve been trying the norwegian purl technique for the contrast colour in the corrugated ribbing which seems to be working OK for now. I love the sproingy woolen-spun shetland yarn – I’m using the Harrisville shetland specified in the pattern.

I still feel a bit uneasy about the idea of cutting my knitting, but that’s a long way off so I’ll concentrate on the knitting part for now.

Responses

  1. Kudos on embarking on something new and different. I cannot wait to see how it turns out.

  2. Excellent – I’m really looking forward to seeing it next week.

  3. Wow – we really do have similar knitting taste 🙂 Ivy league yarn is sitting in my stash, ready to be knitted up right after my obsession with Felted Tweed has died down!

    Don’t be scared of the steeks, just be very sure your schematic measurements are correct, and are the same as your measurements, and it can’t go wrong!

  4. Happy knitiversary indeed!
    And go go go on the Ivy League. It will be awesome, you’ll see.

  5. You have certainly achieved a lot in your 3 years! Knitting, crocheting, spinning, weaving, dyeing, pattern writing! Well done you! Here’s to many, many more enjoyable years of woolly crafting.

  6. Wow!! Only 3 years and you’re going for steeking already! I’ve been knitting on and off for over 20, and I’m not sure I’ll ever get up the courage to try that one! 😀 Go you!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

